Making an Anti Saint Patrick’s Day Wreath

If you surf around the Pagan DIY community, you are bound to have come across this springy Pagan snakes project from Patti Wigington over at about.com <- her tutorial here.

Inspiration:Image

How cute is that! I have read through Patti’s tutorial several times over the last couple years and this year I finally decided to get to it! The construction of the wreath is pretty straight forward: buy a wreath, add greenery, add snakes, tie a bow and ta-da! So why am I even bothering to re-do what’s already been done? Because snakes! I happened to find the exact snakes used here, and I am not bound by the same marketing rules she is on her site, so I thought I’d go ahead and share why these are perfect for the project at hand.

I spent quite some time trying to find snakes for this project. If you google “snake wreath” you’ll discover that Martha Stewart actually did a snake wreath, but for Halloween, and there are many variations of her wreath online. Well that’ s not exactly the feel that I was going for, I definitely don’t want it to be scary.  I absolutely love the happy colors of Spring time! But most of the snakes I found come in semi-realistic colors, and would need to be painted in springy tones. Another problem is that a lot of the toy snakes are really floppy slithery shapeless, so I didn’t want to have to shape the snakes with a TON of hot glue.
After a couple weekends of failed toy snake shopping excursions, I hit Amazon and finally found the perfect spring time snakeys!

Sack of Snakes by Melissa & Doug

MelissaDougSnakes

The exact snakes from the original post, and I can see why! These guys are rigid enough that their shapes hold; but flexible enough that you can curve them to your wreath, and are already bright and happy colored! Not to mention that two of them are in an awesome spiral shape, perfect for this purpose! I will note though that mine did not come with tongues out like you see in this image and on the inspiration wreath. Bummer because little snakey tongues are totally cute, but not important at all lol.

My Wreath:

IMG_0389 1

I’ll try to get a better picture later when it’s hanging on my house. [My camera is no longer functioning so this is from my phone.] I decided to go with more flowers and springy things, partly because I love flowers on everything, and partly because I had these on-hand and didn’t want to buy a lot for this project. I think it came out great though!

Some Snake-Adhering Tips:

  • The snakes do have some give to them, but it is very little. When hot glueing them, don’t do what I did with snake #1 and put a line of hot glue on the snake and press it on. A lot of the glue won’t be touching anything when the snake pulls back to it’s shape. Instead, lay the snake on glueless first and find 3-5 anchor points on the snake and then load up those spots with hefty dollops of glue; then press.
  • Although Patti warns against touching the nib of the glue gun to the snake, these particular snakes are harder plastic and if using a low-heat gun, there is no issue. So after the snakes are secured with the first round of glue, go back and stick your nib in where you can to get more glue under there and keep them on better.
  • The heads are the biggest and best part to anchor with glue, so try to plan it so that their heads are laying on larger cross-sections of the vine wreath so you can utilize that stability to the max.

Any who! That’s all there is to it. Very simple, quick, and fun Spring project! Celebrate the snakes this Saint Patrick’s day! We are not gone!

About emairelhd

A pagan mom in the USA.
This entry was posted in DIY tutorials, Pagan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

