The Universe Blooms from the Bosom of Every Mother – My Pregnancy Belly Cast

So I had my son 2 and a half years ago now, but for some reason I have never posted pictures anywhere of the beautiful pregnant belly-cast that Superman and I made the night before my c-section. [Wonder Boy was breech with no intention of turning] It was such a fun and intimate experience, sitting up late together creating this lasting memory of my full mother Goddess rockin body!

After the cast was made, I stuck it in the top of a closet where it stayed for many months. As we started preparing for Wonder Boy’s wiccaning ritual, I knew the time had come to finish it. People do wiccanings at all different times in a child’s life, sometimes right after birth, a year old, or even older than that is common. We personally decided to do Wonder Boy’s at his 9 month old mark; the day that he had officially been on the outside for as long as he had been inside me. The belly-cast was going to be a focal point for the altar.

It was rather thin, maybe 3 layers thick of papier-mache, so the first thing I did was reinforce the inside of the cast. This gave it more thickness without changing the shape. I then wetted down the outside with a moist sponge and rubbed it until it was smoothed out. I let it dry, then sketched out my designs in pencil, then spent the next 3 days painting it all.

I knew I wanted to have tree branches hugging the form, that I wanted the main belly to be the Earth [a la Gaia], and to have the breasts be a moon and a sun. I wound up not getting all the continents correct on the Earth because I was so tired by the end and jsut trying to finish, but I still love how it came out. The moon and sun are both highly stylized and each side is accented with metalic silver or gold.

Image

ImageImage

So here it is then! I hope you all enjoy the pictures and may it inspire you to artistically capture your pregnant self forever as well! I definitely am VERY glad I made this, and love looking back at it and remembering those days and those BOOBS! Dang!

About emairelhd

A pagan mom in the USA.
This entry was posted in Pagan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

